Race, eat, sleep, recover, race, eat….

This week has been super busy in terms of racing. Last Saturday was the first local road race of the winter season up at Flaxley. Windy and cold conditions saw a fairly tough race with B Grade being the biggest field. With New Zealans coming up in less that two weeks I was definitely there for a workout and not win, so after lots of attacking, pulling back breaks, and almost a full lap off the front, I didn’t have much left in the tank for a sprint and ended up around 10th.

The following day I did a solid 4.5hr hit-out on the mountain bike with the local SA superstar crew. I went on my dually, the SCOTT Spark 10, as I have a few enduro races coming up and I wanted to spend some time in the slightly different position.

Resting up the next day, I made the long 10-hour road trip with Super Mum to Shepparton, Victoria for the 2011 Australian Schools Cycling Cup. Last year I competed in the event for a bit of fun and really enjoyed it winning the hill climb, coming second in the XC and third in the ITT so this year I decided to go over for another shot. Once again, Dave McKenzie and Susan Stewart put on a brilliant event and with better form I won both the Hill Climb (setting a new climb record in the process) and the XC, despite some last minute wheel problems and having to run my CX wheels and 1.5″ knobbies. Unfortunately, on Thursday in the road race, whilst riding in the second group on the road around 40 seconds down on the leading group of 6, I was stung by a bee and had a mild allergic reaction, ending my race prematurely.

Yesterday, Friday, we made the return trip home, and rested up ready for todays road race at Kangarilla. It’s going to be a hard one, I know. I’m a little fatigued from the weeks efforts so far, but I’ll try to conserve a bit of energy during the race and have some left for finish.

During a week like this, I’ve made sure I’ve been eating and hydrating really well and getting the best recovery after every session that I can. Not recovering well after the Hill Climb on Wednesday, for example, could have meant I struggled the following day in the road race, and even more so in the next race.

If you thought that was enough racing for one week, (I certainly did), tomorrow is the first of the Adelaide MTB Club 6hr Enduro series. I hope my legs hold up for that one….

(or racing, in my case)

 

 

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment